© 2023 FriesenPress, Inc. All rights reserved.

Little By Little cover

  • eBook Edition
    • 978-1-5255-5528-2
    • epub, mobi, pdf files
  • Paperback Edition
    • 978-1-5255-5527-5
    • 6.0 x 9.0 inches
    • Black & White interior
    • 312 pages
  • Hardcover Edition
    • 978-1-5255-5526-8
    • 6.0 x 9.0 inches
    • Black & White interior
    • 312 pages
  • Keywords
    • Tower Room series,
    • time-travel story,
    • Underground railroad,
    • Fugitive Slave Law,
    • passive resistance,
    • Quakers,
    • magical realism

Publish with FriesenPress

Learn how you can publish your book with the world’s only 100% employee-owned publishing services provider.

Get our Guide

Little By Little
by Dawn Davis

Dilys Frank is adrift in her grief. A tough and capable young woman, recent circumstance has spilled the wind from her sails, and she now finds herself gambling away her nights and wasting her days behind the counter of an unlicensed pharmacy on Church Street one of many shady ventures run by her father. When she is summoned to the house on Rose Park Avenue, she is drawn into something she had once considered a flight of fancy—a wild tale born of her father’s love of gin. Through a quaint architectural folly, the tower of the house on Rose Park holds the key to doors unimagined, and drawn through them, Dilys unwittingly finds herself on the streets of pre-Civil War Buffalo, where her wits and determination will help her redefine her purpose, affording her an opportunity for love and possibly even redemption. Little by Little is the third book of the Tower Room series. The series began with The Tree of Life and was followed by Falling, which was a Foreword Indies Finalist in the Adult Fantasy category in 2017. Look for the fourth and final book in the Tower Room series: There is Something I Forgot to Tell You, coming soon.

"The Tree of Life" (2015) "Intelligently crafted and carefully plotted, this novel draws from the best of the genres it represents. 4 star Foreword Clarion Review "Davis is a very engaging storyteller and Charlotte is a wonderful creation. Fans of magical realism a la Alice Hoffman will feel at home with this story." 4 star Kirkus Review "Falling" (2017) "The nineteenth century portions of the book are visceral and sensory. Sight, smells, sounds, tastes and textures make the narrative experiential. "Falling" is a charming time travel novel that will pique interest in its series." 4 star Foreword Review "The historical details ("Falling") are a strong feature and the lived-in reality of the setting (War of 1812) should be a treat for history buffs both young and old." Kirkus review "Another carefully crafted, deftly written, reader compelling, unfailingly entertaining novel by a master of narrative storytelling." Midwest Book Review

Dawn Davis was born in Chicago, Illinois and moved to Canada when she was nineteen. She lives and writes in Toronto, Ontario. For more information, please visit:


Dawn Davis

What People are Saying

Other eBook Editions

This book is also available in eBook format from these sites.