© 2019 FriesenPress, Inc. All rights reserved.

At FriesenPress we celebrate each and every book our authors publish. Below are a few that staff have nominated as their picks. Selections change frequently, so be sure to check back for new recommended books. And, of course, all the titles you see below are available here at the FriesenPress Bookstore. Happy reading!

The Rebel Mama's Handbook for (Cool) Moms cover

The Rebel Mama's Handbook for (Cool) Moms

If you’re a mom (or mom-to-be) who wants to raise decent human beings, maintain your pre-baby identity, and not lose your sh*t along the way, congrats: you’ve just found the parenting book of your dreams. The Rebel Mama’s Handbook for (Cool) Moms is a girlfriend’s guide to early motherhood. It’s the Coles Notes for all those boring baby books you never read. It’s the instruction manual you wish your kid(s) came with - complete with cocktail list. Welcome to motherhood. Let’s do this.

The Palm Tree and The Storm cover

The Palm Tree and The Storm

The Palm Tree is just a palm tree. There’s nothing special about her. Nobody sits under her for shade, or climbs up her branches. She doesn’t even have any branches! But when a storm rolls in and wild winds and pounding rain batter the shore, the Palm Tree discovers that there’s something very special about her indeed.

The Irish Affair cover

The Irish Affair

With the terrifying and seemingly inevitable war between Britain, France and Germany looming like storm clouds on the horizon, Scottish architect Lawrence McKellan uproots his Edinburgh household and moves his wife, two children, and brother to the safety of Ireland’s controversial neutrality. He purchases properties in the rural setting of County Mayo, and sets his wife, Helen, up as a hotelier and his brother, Harry, as a gentleman farmer. While somewhat jarred by Lawrence’s compulsory resettlement, the family adjust quickly to the beauty of their surroundings and the charm and culture of the Irish people. Unfortunately, even Ireland’s verdant countryside is marred by shades of grey. And, when Lawrence joins British Intelligence, a shroud of secrecy soon entangles him leaving Helen to battle inner turmoil and Harry to pursue his own agenda with severe consequences. Cooper O’Neil is Irish through and through. When he was only a child, his Catholic father—an ardent IRA supporter—was brutally killed for his beliefs and his sister, Sophie, was marred for life in an ambush by a group of Protestant schoolgirls. The British had been a thorn in the side of Ireland for generations, causing Cooper more anguish by the time he reaches his teens than most people face in a lifetime. Now a hardened man with a steely determination to scrape British shite from Ireland’s weathered boots, Cooper has more power than a man of his nature should probably yield. Shaped by his past, Cooper takes his pain and anger and sharpens them into a thorn of his own. When temptation and ambition pair with distance and deceit, the innocent and guilty are both driven to acts they never thought possible and consequences they never imagined.

Wine Runs Deep cover

Wine Runs Deep
A wine country crime caper by

An irresistible wine country crime caper. Beckett Jensen has lived honorably for the last fifteen years, but the mistakes of his youth are about to overturn his idyllic life as the owner of a successful winery in Paso Robles. Unruly former acquaintances arrive under the guise of a social visit. Drunken hijinks and a hilarious wine tour ensue, but things turn nasty as the unwelcome visitors’ true intentions are revealed. They are plotting a daring crime and using guilt, blackmail, and physical threats to force Beckett to assist them. If Beckett participates he will almost certainly end up in prison. But if he refuses, his life, his winery, and everyone he loves will be destroyed. The cat and mouse games escalate and Beckett plans a sting of his own. Caught in a terrible dilemma, Beckett is forced to reckon with the burdens of his past and tap into the darkness within, hoping it is powerful enough to overcome seemingly insurmountable odds. Only one thing is certain, before the story ends, both wine and blood will spill. “Wine Runs Deep is a heist novel with the wine, the vineyard, and the terroir as the stars.” – Forward Clarion Reviews. “If you enjoy the world of wine, a good thriller and a little romance, you will love Wine Runs Deep.” – Sam Hauck, Wine Educator –

Century cover

The Roman Empire's Incredible First Hundred Years by

Caesar Augustus; John the Baptist; Emperor Nero; King Herod; Jesus of Nazareth; the burning of Rome; the Roman conquest of Britain; the fiery destruction of Pompeii; the Roman-Jewish War; conquests, scandals, intrigues, terrifying cruelties, extraordinary deeds and unforgettable personalities. The first century saw them all. Two thousand years ago, a new world -- our world -- was being born. CENTURY is the story of those fabulous hundred years.

The Adventures of Ana and Pitsi cover

The Adventures of Ana and Pitsi
Inuit Daughters of Canada's North by

The Ana and Pitsi series of stories are written to be enjoyed by children and parents alike. The stories take place in the barren lands of northern Canada. The North West Territories are cold and uninviting, but have been the home to people who have learned to survive and thrive in an environment that most would find impossible. It is in this land where two little Inuit girls, Anana and Pitsiark Oglukark find themselves with a certain ability that allows them to become more a part of the world they live in. Follow their journeys as they travel through the frozen land of their birth. They have no Shopping Malls, pretty dresses, sleepovers, cell phones or dancing slippers. What they have each other, their family, and a Polar Bear named Koluk. We hope you enjoy a book that is not of Fairy tales and pink elephants, but of people who live and love on the shores of the Beaufort Sea. The stories attempt to create, as the old cliché goes, ‘a movie in your head’ and an appreciation of a life that few fortunate humans have experienced.

Beyond The Little Blue Box cover

Beyond The Little Blue Box
The biographical adventures of John T Draper (aka Captain Crunch). Notorious 'Phone Phreak', legendary internet pioneer and ardent privacy advocate. by

Welcome to the world of John T. Draper, better known as Captain Crunch, an eccentric genius who went from being a penniless hacker to a millionaire and back again. Along the way, he developed some of the most significant tools of the computer revolution, but for every success, there have been setbacks and hurdles of literary proportion. Featuring a foreword by Apple co-founder Steve Wozniak and cameos by the who’s who of early computing, this Kerouacian journey gives us an inside look at the birth of modern computing through the eyes of one of its most influential pioneers.

Squire With Fire cover

Squire With Fire
A Happy Dragon Tale by

Here is a delightful Medieval adventure, a story lovingly told within a story. In a dynamic unfolding, Grandpa delights seven-year-old Mac with tales about the brave squires and knights who populated their family history, including the famous knight in the Scottish Rothesay Castle who shares the same name. Mac is particularly curious about the ring Grandpa wears and its thrilling history: it once belonged to a squire with the dreams—the same dreams Mac now has, 600 years later. Squire With Fire illuminates and educates and even surprises. The dragon who plays the supporting role makes the lessons particularly exciting. Along the way, Mac learns about chivalry, bravery, ingenuity, and the role of humour in escaping tricky situations. Best of all, Squire With Fire explodes expectations around gender roles and throws wide the assumptions about what little girls and little boys might do with their lives.