© 2024 FriesenPress, Inc. All rights reserved.

Music for the Soul cover

  • eBook Edition
    • 978-1-03-910803-5
    • epub, pdf files
  • Paperback Edition
    • 978-1-03-910801-1
    • 6.0 x 9.0 inches
    • Black & White interior
    • 138 pages
  • Hardcover Edition
    • 978-1-03-910802-8
    • 6.0 x 9.0 inches
    • Black & White interior
    • 138 pages
  • Keywords
    • Classical music,
    • Listening guide,
    • Baroque,
    • Romantic music,
    • Informed listening,
    • Albinoni,
    • Dvořák

Publish with FriesenPress

Learn how you can publish your book with the world’s only 100% employee-owned publishing services provider.

Get our Guide

Music for the Soul
Experiencing Classical Music through Informed Listening
by Lorraine Kneier

"Informed listening demands knowledge, context, and meditative practice. Even in ideal circumstances, imparting the musical knowledge required for engaged listening is a challenge not easily met. It is refreshing to encounter a well-reasoned and clearly written guide for all those who seek to experience, understand, and share a love for classical music through informed listening." —Joan E. MacLeod, PhD Informed listening meets gentle introspection in this invitation to dive deeply into selected works of some of the great masters of Western classical music. An overview of the Baroque, Classical, and Romantic periods is presented, followed by concise yet heartfelt biographies of Albinoni, Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Brahms, and Dvořák. The chosen works of each of these masters are the slow, heartbeat movements of concertos and symphonies. A greater understanding of each of the works is cultivated through a detailed listening guide complete with musical notation, a diagram of the musical form, and personal reflection questions for the listener. This approachable and inspiring listening guide is both a perfect introduction to classical music for new listeners and a welcome companion for those looking to enhance their music appreciation and understanding of these great works of the masters.

A lifelong interest in music has led Lorraine Kneier to many career roles, including music teacher, administrator of music and fine arts education programs, choir director, adjudicator, and curriculum leader. She has led workshops for symphony patrons and other music lovers on each of the works included in this book. She is the author of Music: A Window to the Soul, published in 2008. Lorraine Kneier lives in Western Canada with her husband.


Lorraine Kneier

What People are Saying

Other eBook Editions

This book is also available in eBook format from these sites.